Beautiful Life Ahead

1 04 2013

I haven’t been on here for a while and I think it’s a shame.  I have so much to be excited about and soo much to be thankful for.  I have a lot of posts on here previous to a beautiful turning point in my life which was meeting the love of my life Rachel.  I guess I haven’t had much to say on here because I’m “too busy” but really it’s because I’ve just been “too lazy” and I’m starting to change my ways.

ImageAlot of things are changing in our lives right now.  Rachel is pregnant, 36 weeks or so, and I’m about to have my dream come true.  As long as I can remember I’ve wanted a family.  I’ve never really been a big “kid” person but yet I’ve always wanted a child of my own.  For me, I think that I don’t look forward to “having a baby” but yet I look forward to raising a child up right.  When I say “right” I don’t mean a kid who behaves or is obedient, but a child that loves God, and seeks after Him.  That’s what I’ve always looked forward to.  The challenge of raising a child up the right way, in the midst of this wicked and twisted world we live in.  I look forward to my baby girl seeking to care for the less fortunate, taking care of widows, finding a man who treasures her as God’s daughter and treats her as such.  I look forward to looking at my girl and having a little more understanding of God’s love for me.  I’m nervous because it’s not going to be easy, and I’m going to be growing in a lot of area’s in the process.  I’m also overjoyed because I believe that I can do it…with God’s help.  Which leads me to my next point.

ImageI’m at a point where I’m looking to God more and more and seeking out His will.  He’s given me more than I deserve for sure.  I’m married to the woman of my dreams (cheesy but words can’t explain how happy I am to have met her) and together we are serving Him and learning more and more about God’s purpose for us.  Something I’ve never had before.  A woman who challenges me to be a better man on a daily basis.  Not just a better man, but a more Godly man.  She humbles me often (I don’t tell her that, but I guess I just did) because she’s got an amazing grasp of life.  Rachel’s so grateful for everything she has and everything that God has done for her.  How many of us can truly examine our lives and say that we are grateful for the things we have and not always focused on what we don’t?  I find myself trying to read more often and pray more often because I want to try to keep up with her.  The motivation behind this probably isn’t the best motivation, but it keeps me striving to be a better man.  I’m so encouraged that my dreams of raising a child right might actually come true with her by my side.  Yes we have two other boys which is my next blessing I’m going to write about…whether you want to hear it or not.

Gabe and Finn are our 2 boys.  Gabe is 11 and Finn is 5.  They are both unique kids and wonderful in their own ways.  Gabe is the most sweet natured 11 year old boy I know.  He really is always trying to help us out and do the right thing.  I can ask him anything, and I know without a doubt that he’ll tell me the truth.  How many kids can you say that about?  Sure he plays a ton of video games, watches alot of YouTube, and plays constantly on his phone, but if those are his vices, I count my blessings.  Finn on the other hand is a very cute kid, but he’s rambunctious.  He’s always playing with other kids and he likes to do things his way and if not, he’ll let you know about it.  He gets very grouchy at times, but then again he can also be a very loving and sweet kid who has the most infectious smile.  He says the most random and hilarious things that even though you might be mad at him, you can’t help but forget about it and just laugh.  They are both wonderful kids and I love them to death.  I was talking to them tonight about Easter and what it means and they both can give me great answers which shows me that they are learning about and loving God.  Rachel has done an amazing job with them!

Now for me!  I’m at a point now where my family is most important to me.  I love Rachel and the boys, and elated that I’m going to be blessed with a baby girl, and I want to do everything right by her.  So I’ve decided that I’m going to quit chewing tobacco and quit tobacco all together.  This isn’t a new concept, I’ve quit before and quit a few times in between…so I guess I’ve never really quit…but I done now.  I had my last one tonight and with God’s help the last one ever.  I want to be around a long time for my family.  I’m really praying, literally, that God will help me with this and He’ll keep me from the stuff.  Also, I’m going to find the determination to start getting in shape.  I’m actually in pretty good shape, for me at least, but I still wouldn’t consider myself “healthy”. 

The last thing I have to be thankful about, my family and God.  I know your thinking, “that’s 2 things” but it’s not to me.  God is the reason I’m here and God is the reason I have the most amazing family around me.  My parents are still together, despite lots of hard times and obstacles, they are together, they love each other desperately, and they love us!  My brother and I have grown up in a wonderful household with wonderful parents who have shown us what “God’s Love” looks like and it’s apparent in our lives.  My brother is a youth pastor at Mission Church in Gilbert with a beautiful family.  His wife, Liz, loves the Lord and together they are raising 2 beautiful boys Ethan and Micah.  They are constantly serving the church and people in need, and God is evident in them.  My wife’s side of the family is also a family after God’s heart.  Lloyd and Lynn are currently leading our small group where we are going through the bible learning each and every step of the way.  Dave is a youth pastor as well who is very knowledgeable about the bible and God’s word.  If only someday I could be as well acquainted with God’s word as he is I’ll be impressed.  Rebekah shares Rachel’s view of gratefulness for her family and her relationship with God. 

So you see, God is in my family and my family is in God.  How blessed am I?  How much do I have to be thankful for?  EVERYTHING! 


Actions

Information

Leave a comment