Bad things and Good people

21 05 2009

Why do Bad things happen to Good people?  It’s the age old question.  Is there really a right answer?

It’s hard when the bad things are happening to you.  The verse that keeps going through my head is James 1:2-4, “2Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”  It is not easy to swallow, but it comes straight from the Bible.  I’ve studied this verse before and it’s always stuck out to me.  I remember thinking of this verse many times when I lost my job, when Danielle and I were going through struggles.  I always thought of this.  I never knew I had so much “maturing” to do.  You know when you think you’re really on top of things and you have everything figured out.  That’s when the proverbial “shit hits the fan”.  I’ve thought many times about how I’ve obviously had some maturing to do.  Well, I am still a child apparently.  God is really developing perseverance in me.  It helps me to understand what he’s doing in me and why it’s important that I go through this non-sense.  bent stickI just saw a show the other day where a guy wanted to straighten a very crooked stick about a nickel in diameter.  You know how he did it?  He put it over a fire and bent it against some rocks.  He kept doing this until it straightened right out like it was designed that way.  God has to do that sometimes for us.  He has to put us in the flames and really work us over with a rock to straighten us out.  Sucks believe me, I know.  I know what God’s doing but it’s hard because I really just want to rebel and not do the “right” thing, but God keeps me just barely still in His grasp.  I think we’ve all had these times when we want to just be bad for no other reason than F*@$ IT!!  I’m in one of those times.  I want to just say “Screw everything that is right, I want to do what I know is wrong because I feel that I’ve gotten the short end of the stick!”  I know where that leads though.  It leads to temporary fun, excitement, herpes….uh, I mean hurdles.  It just leads to more hurdles that you have to overcome when you can just save the energy and do what God wants of me.  He’s always the stick in the mud!  But I guess I’ve really not answered the question.  “WHY DO BAD THINGS HAPPEN TO GOOD PEOPLE?”

Sin!  There is never a day that we don’t sin and screw things up between God and us.  Sometimes it’s not even our sin, but someone elses.  Someone else decides to turn their back on God and someone else pays the price.  Talk about Injustice!  So how about this, why don’t we all just buck up, own our problems, own our situations and deal with them.  Bring them to God.  Say, “God, I’ve screwed up again and I need your guidance and wisdom to lead me through it!” That’s really not that hard!  It’s getting over our own pride and saying “I need help!” Don’t get me wrong people, I still need to do this.  I need to do it right now.  I don’t own alot of things that are going on.  Some I don’t even know what I did, but I know that I had a part in it. That’s ok!  Just bring it to Him and let Him help you through it!  Think of God as you’re own personal blog.  Write Him and vent the things on your heart and ask Him to help you figure out what you can do about your situation.  Realize that to fix your situation you might need to just give it to Him.

Actions

Information

One response

21 05 2009
andybeingachristian

Hey dude – just stumbled on this and found it helpful. Going through tough times myself as my wife struggles to recover from the removal of a brain tumour, so the more reminders of godly perseverance the better!
Thanks, Andy
http://andybeingachristian.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

