Dreams and Desires

5 03 2009

I have recently been thinking about the future alot.  Where Danielle and I want to settle down, how many and when we are going to have kids, our jobs, our role in the church and all that good stuff.  I have come to a few conclusions.

Colorado is where I have my heart set for us.  We have some friends that live there and some that are going to be living there.  I also have family who currently live there.  Also, the state itself is gorgeous.  We are looking at around Fort Collins/Boulder/Loveland area.  We want to get a house with some land in the backcountry a little bit.

Next, I have been tossing around a lot of ideas about what I want to be doing the rest of my life.  I have tossed around being a Chili’s Manager, being a pastor of some sort, an architect/landscape designer.  The one most recent that I’m pretty fond of is being a carpenter/furniture maker and designer.  I say designer very loosely because, I am not going to make some furniture that I learned how to do from a book or show.  I want to create custom furniture.  Have a big old workshop with tons of tools and custom make furniture for myself, the church, and friends/family.  That would make me very happy.  I love working with my hands.

Next is children.  We’ve talked about this topic over and over again.  We aren’t ready to settle down just yet, but we are thinking about it within the next 5 years or so.  We don’t want to be too old, but we also don’t want to give up some of our younger years before we are ready.  We want to have a boy first, then girl, then boy.  That’s the plan anyways.  If anyone knows of any way to up the chances on making those work let us know.  Then we’ll publish it and make millions on it.  Crap! I just told you of my plans.  Anyways, we’ve also discussed discipline, and names, and goals for our kids.

So anyways, all this to say, if you and your spouse haven’t talked about this stuff, you probably ought to.  It’s good to have an idea of what you’re future is going to look like.  Besides it raises alot of good questions and discussions before it happens.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

