Happy Holidays!!

10 11 2008

You know, it’s almost that time of the year again.  The “Holidays” are upon us.  I realized last year how ridiculous it is when people are offended for saying, “Merry Christmas”.  I’m pretty sick of being so politically correct that everything is offensive.  Should I get mad if someone says, “Happy Ash Wednesday”?  I don’t think so.  That just let’s me know that they are Catholic, and they are celebrating “Ash Wednesday”.  I am not going to get mad at them because they celebrate that holiday, and “My religion” doesn’t.  I think that people in general are becoming overly sensitive. 

Now this is a sensitive subject, I know, but wouldn’t it be ironic if I didn’t write about it because someone might possibly be offended?  Now understand this also, I’m not trying to offend anyone.  I’m writing this because it’s that time of the year again when everyone starts getting all pissy if you say anything besides, “Happy Holidays!”.  What about the Jehovah’s Witnesses?  I will offend them if I say Happy Holidays because they don’t celebrate any holiday’s or birthdays.  So you can’t even say that if we are going to be PC.  Here is the overall theme of today’s post. 

IF SOMEONE SAY’S “MERRY CHRISTMAS” DON’T GET OFFENDED, JUST REALIZE THAT THEY ARE CHRISTIAN AND THEY CELEBRATE CHRISTMAS.  It’s not something to get worked up about.  If someone came up to me and said, “Happy Hannakuh” I’m not going to get upset because they didn’t know I was Christian, I’m going to say, “Happy Hannakuh”.  Unless we are all just supposed to greet everyone with a “Happy Christmahannakwanzaka”.  That’s Chris-ma-ha-nuh-kwan-za-kuh.  Next week, Onomatopoeia.

I don’t think that I’m being insensitive here, I’m just using common sense and not thinking that the world revolves around me.  Isn’t it pretty arrogant to think that people around me should tailor their greetings to my religious beliefs?  I think so.  So to think that I have to stop saying “Merry Christmas” because someone might be Jewish, or Jehovah’s witness, or some other religion, is ridiculous.  If you are Jewish, say “Happy Hannakuh” and the next time I see you, I’ll greet you with Happy Hannakuh.  That’s being accommodating, sensitive, polite, and not arrogant. 

Now this video is fun and it kind of has the point that I’m trying to make.  I also don’t think it’s right to shove it down someone’s throat that I believe in “CHRISTMAS!” and you should too.  Although I think people should, but I’m not going to be mad at them for not believing the same way I do. 

KIRBY OUT!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

