Lately I’ve been reassessing things

6 09 2008

Have you ever noticed that when you say, “Hey how’s it goin?” you 9 out of 10 times get either a busy or good?  That’s not a greeting.  That’s saying, “Hey I don’t want to really tell you anything about what’s really going on.”  I wish that when I asked someone, they would truly tell me what’s going on.  Now I can’t expect that from everyone I meet, because someone that I don’t really know isn’t going to divulge the fact that their spouse might be cheating on them.  The people that I know and truly care about though, I would like to know what’s going on.  I was talking with one of my bosses tonight and we had a little discussion about a greeting I gave her a few days ago.  She asked, “Hey chris, how’s it goin?” and I replied, “amazing!”.  She did a double take.  “Really?  Why are you so amazing?”  I told her, “Well I’ve got a job, a wife who I’m in love with, a house, a dog, and money in my pocket!”  She’s was amazed!

If we could only realize how blessed we are.  As Americans, I think that we are so blinded by greed.  Now, this isn’t going to be a guilt speech, but a perspective check.  I truly think that we have been given so much and yet we still all feel that the world owes us more.  A little while ago when I didn’t have a job, I was thinking a little differently.  So when I have a job, I want to be thankful for every hour and dollar I get.  I am 25 years old, I own a house and have a little more than 100k left till I pay it off, NO CREDIT CARD DEBT, no car payments,  and we pay our bills every month off of one income pretty much.  Yes indeed, I am blessed.  Not only that, I have an amazingly beautiful wife who I take for granted, a strong relationship with God, an amazing church, very supportive and loving families (yes, I even love my in-laws), and a partridge in a pear tree.  What more do I really deserve?  Besides, who is giving me all this.  The same God who I hurt everytime I swear, lie, cheat, deceit, lust, gossip, and steal from.  He gave me everything.  If you can imagine real quick being the parent in the toy store where your kid wants everything.  Well, because you love your child, you say yes to things that you know he’ll break, throw away, lose, and break things with.  Your treating your child to a mini shopping spree.  You have to say no to some things like the BB gun, the Pocket bike (mini motorcycles) and so forth.  Then you get home and you say, “Ok now go clean your room so you can play with your new toys, and he just throws a temper tantrum.  Do you realize that’s what we do when we complain that we need more money, a better TV, a newer car, a better job with more benefits and so on.  We already have enough to keep us happy for years if we just get a better perspective.  We need to drop our expectations of life.  We should expect to have food, water, and shelter.  Everything else is a blessing.  I have a home (Blessing), a job (Blessing), a wife (Blessing), a car (Blessing), a computer (Blessing), a dog (Blessing), two families who love me (Blessing) (Blessing), friends (Blessing), etc.  Everything is a blessing given to us by God.  We haven’t earned anything.  You haven’t got to where you are on your own.  God has a purpose and a reason for you being where you are today.  If you haven’t excepted Him, then you’re not quite experiencing all that He has for you.  Contentment, happiness, joy, love, and peace.

Unless your this guy, I wouldn’t be complaining.  He’s probably happy that he has shoes and clothes.  What about you?  Can you be bummed that you didn’t have good enough credit to finance a 50 inch Plasma?  Or are you pissed off that your job sucks and they won’t give you a raise?  Let me ask you, “Do you have a job?” then you probably have a place of residence as well and most likely means of transportation.  Yeah, I think you’re doing alright for yourself.  LIFE DOESN’T OWE YOU ANYTHING!!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

