Back looking for a job. BOOOOO!!

27 06 2008

So I’ve finally conceded and realized that I’m not going to be able to make enough at California Pizza Kitchen to make it until December.  It sucks, and I was kind of hoping it would pick up, but with the economy the way it is, that’s not going to happen.  So I need to look for an additional job.  I’ve told California Pizza Kitchen (affectionately known as CPK) that I will be looking for another job, but they will still be my number one commitment because that’s what I told them I would do at the beginning my employment.  I’ve still got the same problem that I did when I started looking for a job the first time.  Nobody is hiring!  So what do I do?

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, and I have a few dilemma’s.  First off, I have society telling me that I need to get a job and be the bread winner in the relationship.  I don’t blame anybody for thinking this way.  I just think that it is an old-fashioned frame of mind.  Now in some Christian sects, this is held onto firmly.  The bible does give the male the head of the household role.  Some people might think that means “the man needs to be the one bringing home the bacon for his family”.  I can understand why they think that.  I thought that was true for most of my life.  I’ve come to understand though that “head of the Household” is different than that.  To me it means that I need to be at the “Head of my Family” and take responsibility for the situations and predicaments we are in.  For example, if we are in money struggles and can’t pay the bills, I’m not going to ask my wife to get a second job.  I feel that that is my area of responsibility.  I need to provide in times of need.  I don’t need to bring the biggest paycheck home though.  If my wife and I are not doing so well spiritually or emotionally, I need to step up and own the fact that I am not providing a loving and nurturing environment for my wife and I.  I could just as easily blame it on my wife, but it is my responsibility to take the necessary steps to bring us to a healthy point in our relationship.  Wow, I got a little carried away with that one. 

Secondly, I don’t want to get locked into a career right now because Danielle and I have our hearts set on traveling when she is done with school.  I think she has to work for about a year or so in the field before she can get into traveling, but I want to be able to do that when we get there.  I do want to work though.  Let’s get that straight.  I am blogging alot lately because I don’t have very many shifts right now at CPK.  It sucks!  I need to work.  I will go stir crazy after too many hours of non-productivity.  So I need a job or maybe even two.  I’m defineately not opposed to taking a second job right now.  In fact I’m searching for one. 

So does anyone have any suggestions as to what might be the best areas to work in with this crappy economy that we are in?  Do I get another job in the Food Service industry?  Should I look at construction?  I can’t do medical, unless it’s janitorial services.  Which I’m not below doing if it’s worth my while.  Do I try to start up my Landscape Design Business again?  It’s so frustrating.

Actions

Information

One response

22 07 2008
doomshifter

I have an apartment that needs to be cleaned.

Leave a Reply

