Looking to Hire?

17 03 2008

I think I’ve found the perfect job for me. The only problem is, I don’t know who’s hiring or if it’s even a real position.

I’ve been thinking about the perfect job for me ever since I’ve found out that my job is in question.  I’ve come to realize that I want to be the full time fellowship, servant, motivation, inspiration pastor. I don’t actually know if this position exists yet, but if not, I’m going to create it.

I want to be available to people, Christians or non-Christians, that need some extra help. If someone needs some yard work done and can’t because they’re elderly / hurt / don’t know how, I want to be available to them. While I’m doing whatever they need me to do, it gives me a great opportunity to fellowship with them, and listen to them, and ask, “How’s Life?”. I want to be able to help when people need a little encouraging, or motivation. I want to be there when people want to bounce some ideas off someone. I just want to be available to people.

In addition to that, I would like to plan events for charities that everyone can get excited about. A charity bowling tournament, where businesses in the area get involved to help out the local people in their community. Maybe Host a carnival/movie night for the Homeless.

I feel that I need to just getting involved and Love people as we are called to do.  I see a need for Love in the community. I’m guilty of overlooking people in need of Love even moreso than most, because I constantly see the need, but hesitate to meet it. I want to be a full time Christian. I want to make that my Occupation.

I would compare this to something that we all dislike doing, but love the results. Who likes to clean the house? I haven’t met a person yet that just begs to clean house. I haven’t heard of someone that asks, “Can I clean your pee drenched, poo smell embedded toilet?” (That could just be the toilets that I’ve used) Some people see that it needs to be done and they just do it, but most of us hope that someone else will do it. I want to be the one who cleans up His House.  I want to be the one who visit’s the elderly in the hospital, and picks weeds at a single mom’s house, or just hang out with the “Why” kid that asks, “Why?” when you say, “the sky is blue”.  Doesn’t it make you want to tape “BECAUSE!” over his mouth. (maybe that is also just me). It’s not always the easiest thing to do, but when you realize that someone needs to do it, that doesn’t matter.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not the best when it comes to being compassionate, I don’t want to go visit the elderly, but I just know that it blesses God and it needs to be done.

Matthew 25:40 “I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.”

I don’t want to look back at my life and wish that I had helped out more when I could. I want to Love people and make my time His time. There’s alot of hurting and needy people to Love on…SO, WHO’S WITH ME!?

P.S. if you know of any Full time Inspirmotivfellowservantship Position available Let me know.

Actions

Information

One response

18 03 2008
Dan Shields

Hey man. great, great idea for being a pastor in this area. Churches actually do have positions for this. Usually it falls under the heading of compassion or local outreach pastor or something like that where the job description is get others involved in doing what you are doing. So go for it man. Terry McLaws is already trying to do something similar to what you are talking about with our Life with Purpose locally.

Would love to hear about what is going on with your job as well.

Leave a Reply

